©2020 HSBC Singapore Rugby Sevens

  • Black Instagram Icon

Rugby Sevens

Rugby Sevens is played on a full-size pitch by teams of seven players. The games are much shorter in duration compared to the traditional 15's rugby, with each half lasting seven minutes.


With fewer players and shorter games, on-pitch battles are fast and furious are there is more space for the players to express themselves, which deliver more excitement for fans. Fancy dress has become synonymous with Rugby Sevens with rugby-themed games and kid-friendly activities a common sight around the stadium for everyone to embrace and celebrate the sport. With a carnival atmosphere, Rugby Sevens provides an enjoyable and fun experience for every member of the family, rugby fan or not.


New Zealand has by far been the dominant force in the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, which was inaugurated in 1999, winning 12 out of the 19 seasons. However, other teams such as Fiji, USA, Australia and defending champions, South Africa, have emerged as forces to be reckoned with.

Rugby At a Glance

The Rugby Field:

Fewer players on the pitch means a faster game - running and evasion skills, good passing and crafty footwork become important

Five substitutes, with five interchanges

Seven-minute halves, though ten-minute halves are allowed in the final of a competition

One or two minutes' half time

All conversion must be taken within 30 seconds of scoring a try

In Sevens, the team that has just scored kicks off rather than the conceding team

Yellow cards net a 2-minute suspension to the offender and a power day is awarded to the opposing team

The scrum is reduced from 8 to 3 players, just the front now